IPL 2019: Five highest totals in IPL history

Five highest totals in IPL history

Five highest totals in IPL history: The IPL season 12 is soon approaching and players and teams are leaving no stone unturned to win the big trophy.

All set to kick-start on Saturday, March 23, the schedule for the first two weeks of the 2019 season has been announced.

Before the beginning of a new season, let’s take a look at the previous glorious seasons. With many ups and downs, many players and teams had many achievements.

Across the 11 seasons of the Indian Premier League (IPL) so far, here are five teams who put on the magnificent score.

1. IPL 2013: Royal Challengers Bangalore 263/5 vs Pune Warriors

It will be an irony to say that Royal Challengers Bangalore who put on the highest ever score in the tournament never won the Indian Premier League. The team notched up two highest team totals ever in IPL history.

Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 175, consisting of 17 sixes and 13 fours, got RCB to put up 263/5 on the board against the now-defunct Pune Warriors on April 23, 2013. He even surpassed Kolkata Knight Riders’ Brendon McCullum to become the highest-ever individual score in a T20 game.

Chasing the T20 world record target of 264, Pune managed to get to just 133 for nine in 20 overs.

2. IPL 2016: Royal Challengers Bangalore 248/3 vs Gujarat Lions

RCB scored a massive 248/3 courtesy AB de Villiers’s 129 not out against Gujarat Lions. Virat Kohli also scored an attractive 109 at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on May 14, 2016.  Lions had a crashing to a 144-run defeat as they managed to score a meager 104 all out in 18.4 overs.

Kohli even became the first player in the history of the IPL to score two centuries against the same opponents in one edition of the league. De Villiers smashed an unbeaten 129 off 52 balls with 10 fours and 12 sixes while Kohli hit a brilliant 109 off 55 balls, with the help of five fours and eight maximums.

3. IPL 2010: Chennai Super Kings 246/5 vs Rajasthan Royals

Murali Vijay scored 127 off 56 balls which tore the Rajasthan Royals’ bowling unit apart helping Chennai Super Kings post 246/5 at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai on April 3, 2010. He hammered the likes of Shane Watson, Shaun Tait and Shane Warne.

The 246 knock was considered the highest score in IPL which they had better from their 240/5 against Kings XI Punjab in the 2008 clash. Vijay had also become the third Indian to score an IPL century after Manish Pandey and Yusuf Pathan.

4. IPL 2018: Kolkata Knight Riders 245/6 vs Kings XI Punjab

Kolkata Knight Riders had trashed Kings XI Punjab at the Holkar Stadium as they posted 245/6. Sunil Narine started off with a 36-ball 75 while skipper Dinesh Karthik scored a half-century. Andre Russell also helped as he scored a 30.

The momentum which began with Narine’s smashes was continued by Dinesh and Russell. Punjab had managed to put on a score 214/8 as KKR won by 31 runs.

5. IPL 2008: Chennai Super Kings 240/5 vs Kings XI Punjab

In the second match of the inaugural season, the MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings scored 240/5 against Kings XI Punjab in Mohali on April 19, 2008.

Michael Hussey scored the fastest century helping CSK put on the score. He hit 10 sixes and seven boundaries in his unbeaten 116 run off 54 balls.

Punjab were then restricted to 207/4 as Chennai won by 33 runs, check out casinos online for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *