East Bengal, Churchill, NEROCA might face AIFF sanctions

AIFF sanctions

The AIFF sanctions on three I-League outfits – East Bengal, Churchill Brothers and NEROCA FC, following the clubs’ withdrawal from the ongoing Super Cup in Bhubaneswar.

As per the Super Cup’s regulations, clubs that pull out after the commencement of the tournament are liable to a fine and further action, including a disqualification from the next edition of the competition.

Article 10.4.3 states: “The Participating Club that withdraws from the Competition after its commencement shall be required to pay compensation for any and all damages or losses suffered by, where applicable, the other Participating Clubs, the AIFF, the AIFF commercial right partners, licensees, broadcasters and the concerned Member Association,” while 10.4.4 adds, that the clubs can “be disqualified from taking part in next edition of the competition from which it withdrew. The AIFF Executive Committee may extend the suspension depending on the gravity of the situation and/or impose further damages as deemed appropriate by it.”

Mohun Bagan had also withdrawn from the tournament after the first round of matches, but is unlikely to face action as it did not register its team.

Tournament director Anil Kamat told Sportstar that the matter will be directed to the League Committee, which will take a final call when it convenes in Bhubaneswar on April 13.

In total, seven I-League clubs pulled out of the Super Cup owing to their differences with the AIFF regarding their future. Gokulam Kerala FC, Minerva Punjab FC and Aizawl FC had withdrawn before the start of the tournament, and as per the rules, are not liable to face any sanction. Article 10.2 states “Clubs that withdraw prior to the start of the Competition may be replaced by another team as decided by the AIFF.”

Chennai City FC, Real Kashmir and Indian Arrows are the three I-League clubs that participated in the Super Cup. Reigning I-League champion Chennai City has advanced to the quarterfinal, where it will face Bengaluru FC on April 4.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *