Blue Tigers announce final 23-man squad for AFC Asian Cup 2019

23-member squad

India national football team head coach Stephen Constantine has named his final 23-member team for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup 2019, which begins in UAE from January 5.

The team will play an international friendly against Oman on Thursday as part of their preparation for the showcase event next month. Constantine took a 28-man squad to Abu Dhabi for the pre-tournament camp but cut it down to a 23-man squad on Wednesday.

22 of the 23 players in the final squad are from Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) sides. Only Salam Ranjan Singh plies his trade for Hero I-League side East Bengal.

The Blue Tigers are in Group A and will kickstart their campaign against Thailand at the Al Nahyan Stadium in Abu Dhabi on January 6. The team’s next two group stage matches will be against hosts UAE on January 10, followed by a tie against Bahrain on January 14.

Here’s the 23-member squad:

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Bengaluru FC), Amrinder Singh (Mumbai City FC), Vishal Kaith (FC Pune City)

Defenders: Pritam Kotal (ATK), Sarthak Golui (FC Pune City), Sandesh Jhingan (Kerala Blasters FC), Anas Edathodika (Kerala Blasters FC), Salam Ranjan Singh (East Bengal), Subhasish Bose (Mumbai City FC), Narayan Das (Delhi Dynamos FC)

Midfielders: Udanta Singh (Bengaluru FC), Pronay Halder (ATK), Rowllin Borges (NorthEast United FC), Anirudh Thapa (Chennaiyin FC), Vinit Rai (Delhi Dynamos FC), Halicharan Narzary (Kerala Blasters FC), Ashique Kuruniyan (FC Pune City), Jackichand Singh (FC Goa), Germanpreet Singh (Chennaiyin FC)

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Chennaiyin FC), Sumeet Passi (Jamshedpur FC), Balwant Singh (ATK)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *